Pennsylvania’s Ignition Interlock Limited License is a special license that individuals can apply for through Pennsylvania Department of Transportation. This license is issued to individuals that have had their regular license suspended for a period of time. It allows an individual to drive and operate a vehicle with an Ignition Interlock System installed in the vehicle that they are driving. The Ignition Interlock system will not allow the vehicle to start if it detects alcohol on the individual’s breath when they blow into the system. The Ignition Interlock Limited License replaced the Occupational Limited License for DUI offenses. The Occupational Limited License was commonly referred to as the “Bread and Butter License” because it was used to allow people only to drive back and forth to work.
Ignition Interlock Limited License is under 75 PACSA 1556 of the PA code applies to all offenses under Pennsylvania DUIs 75 PACSA 3802 and Refusals 75 PACSA 1547. The petition fee with PennDOT is a nonrefundable $65.00 and must be sent certified mail with the prescribed form from PennDOT. To qualify the law requires that all fines, cost, and restoration fees are paid in full, that the vehicle or vehicles in which the operator wants to use be equipped with an approved ignition interlock system, proof of the ignition interlock system must be proved with the petition, proof of financial responsibility covering all vehicles that the operator intends to use. If the applicant qualifies PennDOT must issue an ignition interlock limited license within 20 days after receiving the petition and all other required documents.
There are waiting periods associated with this special license. Defendants who have not had a prior DUI offense are immediately eligible for the Ignition Interlock Limited License. All other DUI Defendants, if they are serving a 12 month suspension then they must first serve 6 months of that suspension before being eligible. If you are serving an 18 month suspension then you must first serve 9 months of that suspension before being eligible. If you are serving a 12 month suspension for Refusing to submit to chemical testing then you must first serve 6 months of that suspension before being eligible. If you are serving an 18 month suspension then you must first serve 9 months of that suspension before being eligible. In addition time served on the ignition interlock license under this program does not reduce the time period in which you are ordered to have an ignition interlock program as part of your DUI sentence.
For a chart and more information, please refer to our resources page to download additional information and forms about the Ignition Interlock Limited License program.