FREE EMERGENCY CONSULTATION 24/7
Driving While Suspended Attorney in Pennsylvania
Losing your driver’s license for any reason, even if it’s only a short suspension, can be a real burden. You may need your car to get to work, or to get your kids to school, or to do your essential shopping every day. Getting caught driving on a suspended license only compounds your problems. On top of the original suspension, you now face additional suspension, fines, and possibly jail time. This is why it is critical never to drive on a suspended license and why, if you get stopped while doing so, you should seek legal help immediately.
If you are facing driving while suspended charges in the Pennsylvania area, call Brian Manchester, an experienced driving while suspended defense attorney in Pennsylvania. Call today. It is important to start working on your defense right away.
Driving While Suspended: Why a License Is Suspended in the First Place in Pennsylvania
There are a number of reasons a driver’s license might be suspended. They include everything from racing to DUIs, and the length of the imposed suspensions varies from one driving offense to another. Being convicted of driving under the influence can lead to a six-month, 12-month or 18-month suspension, depending on the driver’s blood alcohol content and prior record. Refusing to submit to a blood alcohol content (BAC) test when pulled over for a DUI stop can result in a suspension of a year or more. Penalties for fleeing the scene of an accident that involves death or injury include a one-year suspension. Fleeing a police officer is punishable by a one-year suspension, among other penalties. Drug possession can lead to suspensions too, with even a simple marijuana possession charge carrying the possibility of a six-month suspension. Racing, careless or reckless driving, and causing an accident involving property damage can all lead to six-month suspensions. Underage drinking and driving penalties include a three-month suspension. A number of other crimes can lead to suspensions as well.
Driving While Suspended: One Year More in Pennsylvania
It is unlawful in Pennsylvania to drive a motor vehicle on any highway or road once your driver’s license has been suspended, revoked or cancelled, even in emergency situations. Automatic penalties include a $200 fine and a one-year extension of the license suspension. If the license was revoked rather than suspended while you were driving on it, the revocation will stand for at least another two years.
Driving While Suspended: Extra Penalties for DUIs in Pennsylvania
If you were stopped driving on a license that was suspended as a result of either a DUI or your refusal to submit to a BAC test, you will face stiffer penalties, including a $500 fine and between 60 and 90 days in jail. If the same is true and you measure a BAC of 0.02 or higher when stopped driving on a suspended license, your punishment will include $1,000 and at least 90 days in jail on a first offense. On a second offense, that rises to a jail sentence of between six months and a year plus $2,500. A third offense earns between two and five years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
Get your questions answered - call me for your free strategy session at (888) 994-7616