FREE EMERGENCY CONSULTATION 24/7
Indecent Assault in Pennsylvania
In Pennsylvania, being charged with indecent assault can lead to long-lasting consequences. Even if the charges are the result of a one-time indiscretion, penalties can include prison time, substantial fines and long-term registration as a sex offender.
If you are facing indecent assault charges in the Pennsylvania area, call Brian Manchester, an experienced indecent assault defense attorney in Pennsylvania. Call today. It is important to start working on your defense right away.
Indecent Assault in Pennsylvania
Under Pennsylvania law, indecent assault occurs when an offender has any “indecent contact” with a victim or brings the victim into contact with semen, urine or feces for sexual purposes under the following circumstances: where there is no consent, where force or the threat of force is used, where the victim is unconscious or unaware of what is happening, where the offender drugs the victim, where the victim suffers from a mental disability that renders him unable to consent, where the victim is younger than 13, or where the victim is between 13 and 15 and the offender is 20 or older and not married to the victim. Indecent contact includes any touching of another person’s private parts for purposes of sexual arousal or gratification. Indecent assault is punishable by as many as two years in prison if the indecent contact occurs without consent or if the victim is between 13 and 15 and the perpetrator is at least 20. Indecent assault involving force, the threat of force, drugging, disability or unconsciousness is punishable by as many as five years in prison. So is indecent assault of a child younger than 13, except under certain circumstances where it carries penalties including as many as seven years: where the charge is a second or subsequent offense, where the indecent assault was part of a pattern, or where the indecent contact involves direct touching between the private parts of the offender and the victim.
Aggravated Indecent Assault in Pennsylvania
Pennsylvania has a related and more serious statute, aggravated indecent assault, which carries more severe penalties. Under this law it is a crime to penetrate the genitals or anus of another person for any reason other than good-faith medical, hygienic or law enforcement procedures if there is no consent, if force or the threat of force is used, if the victim is unconscious or unaware of her surroundings, if the offender drugs the victim, if the victim has a mental disability that makes her incapable of giving consent, if the victim is younger than 13, or if the victim is between 13 and 15 and the offender is 20 or older and is not married to the victim. The main difference between indecent assault and aggravated sexual assault is the type of contact, in that aggravated indecent assault requires penetration, however slight. Aggravated indecent assault is punishable by as many as 10 years in prison. Aggravated indecent assault on a child is a separate crime and includes any aggravated indecent assault on a child younger than 13 without consent, while using force or the threat of force, while the victim is unconscious or unaware, while the victim is drugged, or where there is a mental disability. Aggravated indecent assault of a child carries penalties including as many as 20 years in prison.
If you or a loved one are in the Pennsylvania area and have been charged with indecent assault, call Brian Manchester, an experienced indecent assault defense lawyer in Pennsylvania. He can help you build the defense you need today.
Get your questions answered - call me for your free strategy session at (888) 994-7616