FREE EMERGENCY CONSULTATION 24/7
(888) 994-7616 [cForm]
Recent EntriesROR Bail What is Institutional Sexual Assault and its Punishments? Teen Sexting & Child Pornography Charges
Articles Posted in Traffic Offenses
September 7, 2017What Happens When I Get Points On My License?
By Brian Manchester
The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation also known as PennDOT has a point system in place to attempt to improve driving habits and ensure people drive safely on Pennsylvania roadways. Points are assigned based on moving violations and the number of points assigned are bases on the severity of the violation. The number of points that you can accrue before it affects your license is five. Once you hit six points that is when PennDOT will start to take action.
If you are under the age of eighteen and accumulate six points your license will be suspended for 90 days, for every time you reach six points again before you turn eighteen there will be an additional 120 days suspension.
Once you are over the age of eighteen and you reach six points on your license you will be asked to take a points examination. If you pass your exam within 30 days from when PennDOT notified you to take the exam two points will be taken off of your total accumulated points.
If you reach six points again you will then face a Pennsylvania Department of Transportation hearing. You will receive notice of the hearing from PennDOT for the hearing. At the hearing, you could face any or all of the following, nothing, order to take an on road examination, or a fifteen day suspension.
If you reach six points for the third or any subsequent time you will again have to go to a Departmental hearing with the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation. Here the hearing will decide whether or not to suspend your license for thirty days. Failure to appear will result in an automatic suspension until you appear for the hearing.
The next number of points to know about is 11 points. If you reach eleven points your license is automatically suspended, the length of the suspension will depend on how many times you have reached an accumulation of 11 points and how many total points you have accumulated. For the first time it is 5 days per point, for the second time it is 10 days per point, for the third time it is 15 days per point, for all subsequent times it is a one year suspension.
There are also a Departmental hearing for speeding, when you are going over 31 mph over the speed limit. At that hearing, you could receive a 15 day suspension and/or a on road examination.
Points will be removed from your license every year you go without any convictions or suspensions. A total of three points will be removed each year.
It is extremely important to contact an experienced law firm right away if you or someone you know is facing criminal charges in Pennsylvania. If you, your son, daughter, or loved one in Pennsylvania has been arrested for a crime in state or federal court in Pennsylvania you need legal representation. Here at Manchester and Associates, we represent people across the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. For a free consultation, we can be contacted at 1-800-243-4878.
Posted in: Traffic Offenses ,