FREE EMERGENCY CONSULTATION 24/7
(888) 994-7616 [cForm]
Recent EntriesROR Bail What is Institutional Sexual Assault and its Punishments? Teen Sexting & Child Pornography Charges
Articles Posted in Crimes Against A Person
July 10, 2017Simple Assault In Pennsylvania
By Brian Manchester
Have you or someone you know been charged with Simple Assault in Pennsylvania? The charge of Simple Assault in Pennsylvania can have very serious consequences that can include up to five years in prison and thousands in fines.
There are varying degrees of Simple Assault in Pennsylvania; however all of them are misdemeanors. The charge of Simple Assault in Pennsylvania is a claim that you;
- Intentionally, knowingly or recklessly cause bodily injury to somebody else; or
- Negligently cause bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or
- Attempt by physical menace to put another in fear of imminent serious bodily injury; or
- Conceal or attempt to conceal a hypodermic needle on your person and intentionally or knowingly penetrate a law enforcement officer or an officer or an employee of a correctional institution, county jail or prison, detention facility or mental hospital during the course of an arrest or any search of the person.
Simple Assault in Pennsylvania is a crime against another person, not their property. However, you can be charged with Simple Assault for just attempting to injure someone if they were put into fear of serious bodily injury. This means that it really depends on what the “victim” believes at the time of the incident. Obviously there is room here for someone who dislikes you to embellishing facts against you. A Simple Assault charge usually involves no injuries to minor injuries. However as stated you can be charged for simply by holding a weapon or threatening someone with harm. The level of Misdemeanor for Simple Assault charges in Pennsylvania are as follows:
- Fighting with mutual consent. This is a Misdemeanor 3 where the maximum penalty is 1 year in prison and a maximum fine of $2500.
- Simple Assault charge is for all the offenses listed above that are not committed during a mutual fight are considered Misdemeanor 2 where the maximum penalty is 2 years in prison and a maximum fine of $5000.
- The highest level of Simple Assault in Pennsylvania is against a child under 12 years of age by a person 18 years of age or older. This is a Misdemeanor 1 where the maximum penalty is 5 years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000.
It is extremely important to contact an experienced law firm right away in you or someone you know is charged with Simple Assault in Pennsylvania. If you, your son, daughter, or loved one in Pennsylvania has been arrested for a crime in state or federal court in Pennsylvania you need legal representation. Here at Manchester and Associates, we represent people across the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. For a free consultation we can be contacted at 1-800-243-4878.
Posted in: Crimes Against A Person ,