October 30, 2018By Brian Manchester
Adderall is a drug routinely prescribed to treat attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD).
Due to the fact that it is fairly inexpensive and easy to obtain, many individuals use the drug recreationally or outside of its intended medical purpose, which is especially common in colleges and universities, where students use the medication to study because it can improve stamina, increase concentration, and stave off fatigue.
The consequences of using unprescribed Adderall are severe, which comes to the surprise to many people. Since Adderall has addictive qualities and carries a potential for abuse, the medication is classified as a Schedule II controlled substance, meaning that a person found in possession of Adderall without a valid prescription may face prosecution.
In some scenarios, Adderall possession can lead to criminal charges and penalties in Pennsylvania.
Can You Be Arrested for Having Adderall in Pennsylvania?
Although Adderall is legal to possess with a valid prescription, there are a few situations where the possession of Adderall can lead to an arrest and severe drug charges. Some of these situations could include:
- The police search your car during a routine traffic stop and an officer finds a pill bottle with someone else’s name on it.
- You are found in possession of medication that you were holding for another person.
- You are discovered to have sold pills to another person. Selling Adderall can lead to more severe penalties than possessing unprescribed Adderall for personal use.
- You are found in possession of a large amount of Adderall without any valid medical prescription.
Regardless of the situation, Adderall possession is a serious criminal charge with the potential to carry grave penalties, including fines and prison time.
Is it Illegal to Give Someone Adderall?
In essence, yes, it is illegal to give your prescription Adderall to another person. Regardless of whether an actual sale occurred or whether you profited from the exchange, in Pennsylvania, it is a criminal offense to share any kind of prescription medication with another person.
What is the Penalty for Possession of Adderall in Pennsylvania?
The penalty for possession of Adderall depends on factors like:
- The amount of Adderall involved.
- Whether or not it is your first drug offense.
- Whether or no you had intend to sell or distribute the Adderall.
In Pennsylvania, first-offense Adderall possession is a misdemeanor.
Consquences of Adderall-related Charges
Overall, the consequences for a first-time Adderall possession can include up to one year in jail, plus a fine as much as $5,000, and your driver’s license will be suspended for six months. If it’s your second offense, you may be sentenced to up to two years in prison, while a third offense can result in a prison sentence as long as three years.
The penalties for possession with intent to distribute the Adderall are significantly more severe than the consequences for mere possession of Adderall. While simple possession of Adderall is a misdemeanor when at the first offense, a first-time possession with intent to distribute offense involving Adderall – or other Schedule II drugs – is a felony in Pennsylvania. The maximum fine is $15,000 and the prison sentence can be up to five years.
The same penalties apply to other Schedule II prescription drugs and medications, for example, include Dilaudid (hydromorphone), Demerol (meperidine), Dexedrine (dextroamphetamine), fentanyl, and OxyContin (oxycodone).
If you or a loved one was charged with Adderall possession, contact Brian Manchester today for help with your case. He will fight for you every step of the way and ensure you receive aggressive representation. Drug crimes carry grave legal consequences, including potential jail or prison time, expensive fines, and a permanent criminal record.
By working with a qualified and experienced attorney, it may be possible to qualify for a drug diversion program that can keep you out of jail. Because each case is different, consulting with an attorney about your specific situation is essential. For a free consultation, we can be contacted at 1-800-243-4878.
Recent EntriesROR Bail What is Institutional Sexual Assault and its Punishments? Teen Sexting & Child Pornography Charges
Effective Criminal DefenseFree download